Kojic Acid

food Antioxidant,CAS no.501-30-4, HS code 293229

HomeKojic Acid
Skin Whitening Kojic Acid

Product Description

inquiry

 

Kojic Acid, CAS number 501-30-4, is a chelation agent produced by several species of fungi, especially Aspergillus oryzae, which has the Japanese common name koji, appears as an off-white crystalline powder. It is often used on cut fruits to prevent oxidative browning, and it is also used in seafood to preserve pink and red colors. Kojic acid also has antibacterial and antifungal properties. Kojic acid also acts as both antioxidant and bleaching agents in cosmetic creams. As a professional supplier of Kojic Acid, we distribute Kojic Acid, feed, food and pharmaceutical grade.

CAS No. : 501-30-4
Chemical Formula : C6H6O4
H.S.code : 293229
E No. : NA
Other name : 5-hydroxy-2-hydroxymethyl-4-pyrone
Chemical structure  :  KojicAcid.svg

Kojic Acid powder Specification

ITEM STANDARD
Apperance Almost White Crystalline powder
Assay % ≥99
Melting point 152-156 ℃
Loss on drying % ≤1
Ignition residue ≤0.1
Chloride(ppm) ≤100
Heavy metal(ppm) ≤3
Arsenic (ppm) ≤1
Ferrum (ppm) ≤10
Microbiological test Bacteria: ≤3000CFU/gFungus:  ≤100CFU/g

As a professional supplier of Kojic Acid, we distribute Kojic Acid, feed, food and pharmaceutical grade HAPPC, KOSHER, HALAL Certificates for this product

Price trend of Kojic Acid

Upstream: Prices of upstream corn starch are stable and supply is stable. Production capacity of the Kojic Acid manufacturers didn’t change much.
Downstream: Downstream demand is pretty stable.
Forecast: Considering the current market trend, price of Kojic Acid will be stable in the coming months.

Food Grade: Kojic Acid is widely used as antioxidants in food industries.  food grade Kojic Acid is available as fine powder(>99% purity).

Kojic Acid gluten free

Yes. Kojic Acid is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide longer shelf-life to processed food.

Halal Certified Kojic Acid

Kojic Acid is an organic acid produced by aspergillus, available as Almost White Crystalline powder. Kojic Acid is mainly used as antioxidant and preservative in food products. As a plant derived ingredients, Kojic Acid is general recognized as halal. We will still audit another 2 key points to make sure that our Kojic Acid is 100% halal: Are there any pig products used in manufacturing process of this ingredient? Does the ingredient contain Alcohol (impure) or other haraam ingredients?

Kosher Certified Kojic Acid

Kojic Acid is an organic acid produced by aspergillus, available as Almost White Crystalline powder. Kojic Acid is mainly used as antioxidant and preservative in food products. As a 100% crops, Kojic Acid is general recognized as Kosher classified as Parve. Moreover, Kojic Acid is also regulated as Kosher for Passover.

Kojic Acid MSDS

  • 5.1. Storage: Store in original package, cool and dry.
  • 5.2. Handling precaution: Keep away from heat. Keep away from sources of ignition. Empty containers pose a fire risk, evaporate the residue under a fume hood. Ground all equipment containing material. Do not ingest. Do not breathe dust.

Side Effect of Kojic Acid

Though Kojic Acid is not on FDA’s GRAS exemption list, it’s still widely accepted as safe food additive in many countries including USA with specific limit on dosage.

1. Kojic Acid can cause skin irritation when used in cosmetic products. 2. Kojic acid can cause allergic contact dermatitis with continued regular use of cosmetic products containing kojic acid.

Application and Uses of Kojic Acid

Kojic Acid is a organic acid widely used as antioxidant and preservative in food production. As a antioxidant and preservative, Kojic Acid can be used in a wide variety of industries including: food production, pharmaceutical, cosmetics, agriculture/animal feed, and various other industries.

Related Products