Carrageenan, E407, CAS no.11114-20-8, is a hydrophilic colloid extracted from certain red algae seaweed, it can be divided into K-type (Kappa), I-type (Iota) and L-type (lambda). Carrageenan is often used in food industry as the thickening, gelatinizing, suspending, emulsifying and stabilizing agents. Uses: in Jelly Production:jelly made by carrageenan is full of elasticity and has no off-water property. Uses in Soft Sweets:The transparent fruit sweets made by carrageenan have rich fruit flavors and moderate sweetness. tasty, non-stick to teeth. make the products taste well, full of elasticity, have a small viscosity and improve the stability. Uses in Ice Cream:enables ice cream to have a fine, smooth texture and a good taste. As a professional Carrageenan powder supplier, we distribute Carrageenan powder feed grade, food grade and pharma grade.
Carrageenan powder Specification
|Appearance||Cream white powder|
|Particle Size||95% pass 120 mesh|
|Total sulfate (%)||15~ 40|
|Loss on drying (%)||≤12|
|Water viscosity(1.5%, 75°C, mPa.s)||20~ 200|
|Water gel(1.5%, 0.2%KCl, g/cm2)||≥1200|
|Arsenic (As)||≤ 3 mg/kg|
|Lead (Pb)||≤ 5 mg/kg|
|Cadium (Cd)||≤ 1 mg/kg|
|Mercury (Hg)||≤ 1 mg/kg|
|Total plate count||≤ 5000 cfu/g|
|Yeast and moulds||≤ 300 cfu/g|
|Salmonella spp./ 10g||Negative|
|Escherichia coli/ 5g||Negative|
As a professional Carrageenan powder supplier, we distribute Carrageenan powder feed grade, food grade and pharma grade can provide HAPPC, KOSHER, HALAL Certificates for Carrageenan.
Upstream: Prices of upstream red edible seaweeds are stable and supply is stable. Production capacity of the Carrageenan manufacturers didn’t change much.
Downstream: Downstream demand is pretty stable.
Forecast: Considering the current market trend, price of Carrageenan will be stable in the coming months.
Food Grade: Carrageenan is widely used as thickener and texture stabilizer in food and beverage industries. food grade Carrageenan is available as fine powder(Foodgel 1100~4000).
Carrageenan gluten free
Yes. Carrageenan is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide stronger texture and better mouthfeel to salad dressing, jelly and Candy.
Carrageenan is a polysaccharide isolated from seaweed. As a plant derived ingredients, Carrageenan is general recognized as halal. Carrageenan is a great Halal thickener and is widely used as substitute of gelatin in food and beverage. We will still audit another 2 key points to make sure that our Carrageenan is 100% halal: Are there any pig products used in manufacturing process of this ingredient? Does the ingredient contain Alcohol (impure) or other haraam ingredients?
Carrageenan is a polysaccharide isolated from seaweed. As a plant derived ingredients, Carrageenan is general recognized as Kosher classified as Parve. Moreover, Carrageenan is also regulated as Kosher for Passover.
- 5.1. Storage: Kept in dry, cool, and shaded place with original packaging, avoid moisture, store at room temperature.
- 5.2. Handling precaution: Keep away from heat. Keep away from sources of ignition. Empty containers pose a fire risk, evaporate the residue under a fume hood. Ground all equipment containing material. Do not ingest. Do not breathe dust.
No significant side effects reported. There is a chemically altered form of carrageenan that might cause cancer.
Generally recognized as safe(GRAS) is a FDA designation that a specific substance or ingredient is generally considered safe by experts, and so is exempted from the usual Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA) food additive tolerance requirements. Carrageenan is considered safe by FDA according to existing data and granted GRAS status.
Carrageenan is a polysaccharide widely used as gelling in food and beverage industries. As a gelling, Carrageenan can be used in a wide variety of industries including: food production, beverage, pharmaceutical, agriculture/animal feed, and various other industries.